Sunday, January 01, 2006

that was the year that was

At the start of a new year it’s time for us at Freedom Road Records to look back over 2005 and reflect on what we’ve done and what people may have missed.

February saw the release of the ‘Dance With Me’ EP, some fine electro pop in the form of Sweden’s Compute. The band had briefly contained Jens Lekman before Ulrika Mild struck out on her own, leaving Jens to enjoy much success.

Music from the EP:
  • Compute - Dance With Me
  • Compute - Turn Your Head

  • Music not on the EP:
  • Compute - I Thought One Kiss Couldn't Do Any Harm
  • Compute - Every Chance

  • Words and pictures

  • June saw us release the ‘Echo the World’ album by Norway’s Wallpaper Silhouettes. Eighties styled indie pop in the mould of Orange Juice and the Chameleons.

    Music from the album:
  • Wallpaper Silhouettes - A Need To Know
  • Wallpaper Silhouettes - Autumn Love

  • Music not on the album:
  • Wallpaper Silhouettes - The Marauder

  • Words and pictures

  • July saw us move into the murky world of trance with the release of nervous_testpilot’s ‘Determinance’ EP.

    Music from the EP:
  • nervous_testpilot - Spacetime

  • Words and pictures

  • Finally November saw the release of undertheigloo’s debut album ‘Circlesend’. The band fall somewhere between Boards of Canada, Grandaddy and Radiohead.

    Listen to the album:
  • undertheigloo - Circlesend

    And that’s it for now...there’s new stuff planned for the first couple of months of this year, an EP from Harlette and a remix album from the Evenings.

    If you like anything and want to buy a CD, you can do so here.

    Have a good 2006!


    Post a Comment

    Links to this post:

    Create a Link

    << Home